Vegmonkey and the Mrs.

Vegetable growing in a very small space in Cheltenham

Campaign for lovely labels! March 5, 2008

Filed under: growing — vegmonkey @ 10:19 pm
Tags: , ,

Modern metal garden label        Organic green garden labels        Evil white garden label

It’s the Mrs here – yes I do exist! At last I have actually been trusted to write a blog entry – or in reality had access to the computer long enough to do so – hhhmmm.

Last week when we were planting out the various seeds and the potatoes it was my honourable task to write the labels. Frustratingly we have three different types of labels and with my self-diagnosed O.C.D. kicking in I wish we’d stuck with one type! I am keen to have jam packed full beds but also keen that the garden looks pretty and girly – I’ve got to have some space for candles, windchimes and oh yeah, flowers. Anyhow back to the labels…

We received the green labels as a Christmas gift and I really like the fact that the look quite organic but they don’t seem to be lasting that well. The metal ones were found at a car boot sale but offer a modern and trendy feel – I get quite an urge to put a metal watering can next to them and take a photo for Ideal Home magazine. That just leaves the white plastic labels – well say no more – I’m starting a campaign to get rid of them! I know they’re probably the most functional but surely the veggies and plants should be the focus, not bright white labels littering the beds. I beg you to offer your support!

 

10 Responses to “Campaign for lovely labels!”

  1. deb Says:

    One of the companies that makes metal tags also makes them in cooper. They are beautiful.

  2. vegmonkey Says:

    Thanks Deb, they sound great. I can imagine that the copper really looks striking next to the green of the plants. I shall do a bit of research – cheers.

  3. Jenny Says:

    Hello, Mrs.! I love the metal labels–the copper ones would be beautiful, too. I admit I never thought of putting windchimes in the garden, but I do have a set that’s been needing a home, so thanks for the idea!

  4. gintoino Says:

    The metal ones for sure! Probably would look even better in copper.

  5. Simon Kirby Says:

    Hi Mrs. For potatoes and onions I just tie the net bag they came in to a stick complete with label attached. I’ve done it for years, and every year the ink washes off the label. Maybe I’ll try one of your ideas.

    Don’t think there’s anything girly about flowers on the allotment, but I think a windchime might send me bonkers.

    Simon

  6. vegmonkey Says:

    Thanks for all your messages – glad it’s given some food for thought. If I manage to get my way I’ll make sure I post some photos.

  7. louisa Says:

    HELLO, I DISLIKE LABELS AND TAGS SHOWING TOO. ESPECIALLY ON SEED TRAYS. I USE SEE THROUGH PLASTIC LEMONADE BOTTLES. I CUT OUT RECTANGULAR STICKS AND MARK THE NAME, SPECIES AND DATE OF SEWING ON THEM. THEY ARE FREE, RECYCLED AND VERY WELL CAMOUFLAGED!!!

    LOUISA

  8. Amy Says:

    I totally agree! I am loving those slate labels you can get but they come in packs of 6 and cost the earth so not great for an allotment. White plastic is dull but practical but there is a compromise; coloured plastic! Slightly more expensive than white but at least you can colour co-ordinate!

  9. Curtis Says:

    They do look better than the white labels. Of course they cost better too. They should last for many years so well worth the cost.

  10. Katie Says:

    Wooden lolly sticks for lables!! Save your own/familly/pick up as litter( then wash ofcause!)/work mates/ next doors kids…….Totally free and good to recycle yeah!


Leave a Reply

